MinEx CRC Ltd operates under the Corporations Act and is governed by an independent skills-based Board and Chair. The Board are accountable to a number of stakeholders, including the Australian Government through the Commonwealth Agreement, our participants through the respective Participants Agreement and Affiliates Agreements, and our Members through the Constitution.

Board for web 191126

Chris Pigram AM


Chris is a geologist with over 40 years of experience in a wide range of geoscientific research and mapping. He was the Chief Executive Officer of Geoscience Australia from 2010–2017. He is a Director of AuScope Pty Ltd, Member CSIRO Deep Earth Imaging Advisory Panel, Member Strategic Science and User Advisory Panel, GNS New Zealand, Member and Chair of CSIRO Mineral Resources Advisory Council, and Member of the Australian Space Agency Advisory Group. He was made a Member of the Order of Australia in 2019.


Andrew Bailey

Board Member

Andrew is a geologist with experience across exploration, mining and research coordination, both in Australia and abroad. He has explored successfully for numerous commodities, including gold, diamonds, nickel and iron ore. Andrew holds a Masters Degree in Geology and an MBA from Deakin University. He is a Director of the CRC Association.


Lindsay Gilligan, PSM

Board Member

Lindsay recently retired as a Director of Thomson Resources Ltd where he was Independent Nonexecutive Chairman of the Board since 2009. He was also on the Board of the former Deep Exploration Technologies CRC and was a Director of the Geological Survey of New South Wales. He has over 40 years’ experience as a geologist and his career has focused on the geology of mineral resources and fostering mineral exploration and discovery in NSW. Whilst Director, he led the NSW Government’s New Frontiers exploration initiative. Lindsay has consulted to government geoscience organisations on organisational and strategic planning issues.


Kelly Keates

Board Member

Kelly has over 28 years’ experience in the mining exploration industry. She is Managing Director and Owner of Zonge Engineering and Research Organisation (Aust) Pty Ltd a geophysical service company. She is also Director of Liquid Integrity Systems Pty Ltd an innovative tech start-up. She is Chairman of the Executive Roundtable Advisory Board, a member of the Industry Leaders Fund Scholars Network Committee and mentor in the Curious Minds Program.



Board Member

Linda is Vice-Chancellor and President of Swinburne University of Technology. She is Chair of the Board of the Victorian Comprehensive Cancer Centre and her academic career has extended across Australia, Canada and the United States. She was Chair of AuScope (2008- 2017) and served as Non-Executive Director of AARNET, the Australian Synchrotron Holding Company Ltd., and the International Centre for Radioastronomy Research.


Peter Rossdeutscher, FAICD

Board Member

Peter has almost 20 years executive experience in the technology and resources industries. He is Director of AgriStart Pty Ltd, Atomic Sky Pty Ltd, Quantify Technology Pty Ltd, Red Terra Pty Ltd, and the GDC Foundation. Peter is a strategic advisor to global technology companies and is former global CEO, experienced Entrepreneur and Adjunct Professor of Entrepreneurship and Innovation at UWA.


Erica Smyth, AC

Board Member

Erica is a Western Australian geologist and senior mining executive with 45 years experience in the mineral and petroleum industries. She is a Non-Executive Director of Australian Energy Resources Growth Centre Ltd and Demand. Film Pty Ltd. Erica is Chairman of NOPSEMA Ministerial Advisory Board, Chairman ARC Centre for Mine Site Restoration - Industry Advisory Committee at Curtin University, non-executive Director of ICRAR (International Centre for Radio Astronomy Research), and Chairman of Defence First Principles Ministerial Advisory Board.


Subscribe here for all the latest MinEx CRC updates...